The Geospatial Council of Australia

Member dashboard

Access your account details and member services

Manage CPD points

View and manage your Continuing Professional Development points

Member events

View and attend our events

Member support

Please contact our Membership Officer with any queries



Hydrograpic Certification

Certification process

Specialist certification in hydrography is the official recognition that an individual possesses the necessary knowledge to perform hydrographic surveying tasks along with the demonstrated ability to apply that knowledge across various hydrographic disciplines. Certification confers eligibility for membership of the SSSI or NZIS subject to individuals meeting the membership criteria of each respective organisations.

Applicants are assessed in accordance with IHO Category A and Category B qualification requirements. However, they are also required to provide verified evidence of their post-qualification experience/sea-time/field work and project responsibilities. Collectively, an individual’s qualifications and experience are essential components of the hydrographic surveyor certification process.

Successful applicants are certified to either a Level 1 and Level 2 standard as distinct from achieving a Category A and Category B qualification. The Level 1 and Level 2 standard highlights an important difference between the two – recognition of education and training (Category A and B) and recognition of an individual’s competence and experience post training (Level 1 and 2).

The following video explains the AHSCP hydrographic certification process:

Certification is an open process and to obtain certification an individual need not be a member of GCA or NZIS. However, to retain certification the individual must demonstrate an ongoing commitment to Continuing Professional Development (CPD) on an annual basis whether as a member of the GCA or NZIS or not.

The certification equation
the AHSCP composition
Pathway to level 1
Pathway to level 1