The Geospatial Council of Australia

Member dashboard

Access your account details and member services

Manage CPD points

View and manage your Continuing Professional Development points

Member events

View and attend our events

Member support

Please contact our Membership Officer with any queries



Discussion – 


Nominations open for Geospatial Excellence Awards

Excellence awards GCA

In the past we have recognised the achievements of individuals and organisations through the Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards (APSEAs). The establishment of the Geospatial Council of Australia resulted in a renaming of these awards to align with our new organisation. From 2023, we are proud to rename the awards the Geospatial Excellence Awards.

Individual awards are open to any individual in the geospatial field, with the exception of the Professional and Future Leader of the Year awards where nominees must also be current members of the Geospatial Council or S+SNZ.

The Individual Award categories are as follows:

  • Professional of the Year Award
  • Future Leader of the Year Award
  • Diversity & Inclusion Award
  • Educational Development Award
  • Postgraduate Student Award
  • Undergraduate Student Award.

Industry awards are open to any organisation – private, public, academic or not for profit – with a geospatial project undertaken in the previous 18 months.

The Industry Award categories are as follows:

  • Community Impact
  • Environment and Sustainability
  • Innovation
  • International Partnership
  • Geospatial Enablement
  • Technical Excellence
  • Workforce Development and Inclusion.

We also have three Special Award categories which have specific eligibility criteria:

  • Peter Woodgate Award – any Australian based geospatial individual or team
  • Bruce Thompson Innovation Award – any Australian based geospatial individual
  • Hydrographic Excellence Award – any Australian or New Zealand based hydrographic professional or team.

Awards ceremonies are held across Australia and New Zealand, culminating in a national gala dinner at our national conference, Locate.

The Geospatial Excellence Awards are a unique opportunity to celebrate the stars of our industry, highlighting their contributions to advancing the field of geospatial. By recognising excellence in innovation, professionalism, and performance, we strive to inspire further advancements and foster a vibrant and thriving community.

Click here to find out more information about the Geospatial Excellence Awards

Start your Award nomination now

If you have any queries, reach out to our Awards team on We look forward to your nomination!